Another Facebook response……Police road blocks

ImageRecently a Facebook buddy…..of questionable acquaintance posted that she was stopped by a road block on a local road, very near to where I live. Of course I was intrigued because later that evening I was going to be driving down that very road. Of course with no intentions of breaking the law, but out of sanity and time’s sake I was thankful to be informed before being stopped by the local gestapo and be asked to provide papers. undoubtedly I avoided said road and proceeded to take a much more efficient route and refrained from coming into contact with the local authorities.

However, as with the internet, someone disagreed. A gentlemen by the name of Dewayne whom I have no clue about, disagreed adamantly to her post and even through while not quite stating it alluded to the possibility that by her providing this information, a child who has been kidnapped could have gotten away! That a drunk driver could have possibly been stopped! He proceeded to play the good ole’ argument from guilt.

While I was typing my response I abruptly found out that she had deleted the post when I tried to send my finalized response to the good sir. All because he made an argument of essentially what if…….I don’t know what was worse, that he demonized the post, or that she caved in to deleting it purely because she was guilted into being told that sharing it was harmful.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
What follows is the response that Dewayne will never receive. However for you, my followers which I am grateful to have as well as those who are merely passing by, I will share it with you. It holds what I know to be personally true, as well as what my personal beliefs are toward such actions that are conducted daily by the police……….

Road blocks are the quintessential show of force for a police state, “Papers please.” As a libertarian I can state that I personally find roadblocks illegal and unconstitutional, it is still law, no matter how flimsy and no matter what the local police choose to call these ‘check points’ to keep them legal.

You feed right into what they want you to believe, that they are ‘protecting’ you. Funny seeming that the Supreme Court has openly ruled that Police do not have a constitutional duty to protect anyone. You can tell Jessica Gonzales that the police are here to protect you, especially after she pleaded with police about her estranged husband who broke a protective order. Which when police didn’t respond to her pleas, he proceeded to kidnap her three young daughter and murdered them. Would a road block have helped then? Castle Rock v. Gonzales

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment forbids the government to deprive individuals of life, liberty, or property without “due process of law. In 1989 the U.S. Supreme Court stated, “Nothing in the language of the Due Process Clause itself requires the State to protect the life, liberty, and property of its citizens against invasion by private actors. Generally, the Due Process Clause does not provide an affirmative right to government aid, “even where such aid may be necessary to secure life, liberty, or property interests of which the government itself may not deprive the individual.http://www.policechiefmagazine.org/magazine/index.cfm?fuseaction=display_arch&article_id=341&issue_id=72004
So with that a little bit of Ben Franklin……

“They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety.”
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

 

Leave a comment